Connect with us
Flynn's Tire


Tony Kanaan Announces 2020 Will Be His Final NTT IndyCar Season



Jim Haines/IndyCar Series

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (Pittsburgh Racing Now) – Tony Kanaan, the 2004 IndyCar Champion and 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner, is going to close out his career as a primary IndyCar driver in 2020.

The popular Brazilian is set to compete in the five oval races of the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season in the No. 14 AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet beginning with the 104th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Sunday, May 24th.  “TK Last Lap” will then run Saturday night races at Texas Motor Speedway (June 6), Richmond Raceway (June 27), Iowa Speedway (July 18) and World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway (August 22).

“I look back at all these years racing in IndyCar and the first thing that comes to my mind is how fortunate I’ve been to be in the top level of the sport for this long,” said Kanaan.  “I walked into this sport as a 23-year-old with lots of hopes and dreams and I can say, without a doubt, that I accomplished everything I wanted.”

Kanaan’s IndyCar career began in 1998 with Tasman Motorsports after he captured the Indy Lights title for the organization the previous year.  Kanaan won Rookie-of-the-Year honors with Tasman that year and earned his first pole position the following year at Long Beach and his first win in July of that year at Michigan International Speedway.

Kanaan captured the IndyCar Championship in 2004 with Andretti Green Racing after winning three races, posting 15-Top 5’s in 16-races and completing every lap on the season.

Kanaan’s biggest victory came in 2013 when he crossed the yard of bricks first in the Indianapolis 500.  In 18-starts at Indy Kanaan has 1-win, eight Top-5’s and has led 361-laps. Kanaan did leave open the possibility of returning for future Indianapolis 500’s, but not for another partial or full NTT IndyCar Series season.

Kanaan has amasseed 17-wins, 15-pole positions and 78-podium finished in his 377-career starts, which rank second all-time only to the 407-starts made by the legendary Mario Andretti.  Kanaan is also the “Ironman” of IndyCar, holding the active record for most consecutive starts at 317.  A streak that started at Portland International Raceway in 2001.

Kanaan will be promoting the hashtag “TKLastLap” during the course of the 2020 NTT Indycar Series season, which opens Sunday, March 15 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Fans can follow “TKLastLap” on Kanaan’s social media channels: @tkanaan on Instagram and @tonykanaan on Twitter and Facebook.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2019 Pittsburgh Racing Now.