Connect with us
Flynn's Tire

Sports Cars

DragonSpeed Racing and Paul Miller Racing Take Class Wins At Rolex 24 At Daytona




DAYTONA BEACH, FL (Pittsburgh Racing Now) – DragonSpeed Racing made it back-to-back wins in the Le Mans Prototype 2 Class at the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

The No. 81 ORECA LMP2 07 driven by Ben Hanley, Henrik Hedman, Colin Braun and Harrison Newey finished ahead of the No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA LMP2 07 driven by Ben Keating, Simon Trummer, Nick Boulle and Gabriel Aubry, which started on the pole position.

DragonSpeed and Mathiasen battled it out as the only two cars to lead laps in the class.  Mathiasen took off from the pole and led the opening 104-laps.  The teams traded spots out-front throughout the middle parts of the race with Braun passing Keating Sunday morning at the 17.5-hour mark to take the lead for good, leading the final 212-laps.

“Ben drove the wheels off the thing,” Braun said.  “The guys had great pit stops and great strategies all day.  When you execute like that and make no mistakes, you’re usually rewarded with a victory”.


The GT Daytona (GTD) came down to a battle of Lamborghini’s as Paul Miller Racing’s No. 48 Lamborghini beat the No 44 GRT Magnus Lamborghini to the checkered flag by 21-seconds.  The victory was the first for Miller, the long-time team owner and former IMSA driver.  It was also the first victory for his drivers, Andrea Caldarelli, Madison Snow, Corey Lewis and Bryan Sellars.

Paul Miller Racing Celebrates In Gatorade Victory Lane After Scoring The GTD Class Win At The Rolex 24 At Daytona.

“A lot of years trying, a lot of years of pain and watching other people walk by you with the watch you want so bad,” said Sellars.  “It feels so good to have it all finally come together.”

“The last eight hours were like a sprint race.” said Calderelli, who passed his former teammate Marco Mapelli in the pits.  “I used to race with Marco in the same car, so we never really fought one-on-one.  I know him.  It was a very fair fight and we both represent Lamborghini as well.  So we didn’t do any stupid things.”

The No. 44 GRT Magnus Lamborghini, driven by Mapelli, John Potter, Andy Lally and Spencer Pumpelly, finished second followed by the No. 88 WRT Speedstar Audi Sport R8 LMS GT3.

The next race on the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship is the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Advance Auto Parts is Saturday, March 21st.  The race starts at 10:40 am ET and will be televised by CNBC.  It will also be streamed on the NBC Sports App with authentication and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold.  IMSA Radio will have coverage available on, and Sirius XM.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2019 Pittsburgh Racing Now.