Connect with us
Mr. Magic Car Wash


Hamlin Takes Controversial Win At Talladega



Chris Graythen/Getty Images

TALLADEGA, AL (Pittsburgh Racing Now) – Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin captured the checkered flag in overtime at Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series YellaWood 500 at Talladega Superspeedway.

Hamlin narrowly beat Wood Brothers Racing’s Matt DiBenedetto by 0.086-seconds to win his 44th career win, which ties him with NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott for 18th on the all-time Cup Series win list.

“We just played the strategy and the numbers game to run in the back until we were locked in,” said Hamlin.  “This one is unexpected to say the least, but proud of this whole FedEx team, Toyota and everyone at JGR for bringing great race cars.”

The victory did not come without some controversy.  Hamlin drove below the double yellow line in turn 4 passing both the No. 24 of William Byron and the No. 21 of DiBenedetto in the process.

NASCAR reviewed the finish and declared Hamlin the winner but five minutes later penalized DiBenedetto for forcing Byron below the yellow line.  DiBenedetto went from finishing 2nd to 21st.  The series also penalized the No. 9 of Chase Elliott for going below the double yellow line.

Three Rivers Karting

An hour after the initial review and subsequent penalties, NASCAR rescinded the penalty to Elliott and penalized the No. 17 of Chris Buescher for forcing the No. 9 below the line.  The penalty dropped Buescher from 6th to 22nd.  Elliott was credited with a 5th place finish.

Ten minutes later NASCAR Senior Vice President of Competition Scott Miller explained the sanctioning body’s position.

“It was pretty clear-cut,” said Miller.  “The 21 (DiBenedetto) hung a left, drove those guys (Byron and Hamlin) below the line.  We called that twice on the 22 (Joey Logano) car during the race, so nothing different there.  On the 24 (Byron) and the 11 (Hamlin) being down there, I mean, in our judgement there were down there to avoid a wreck.”

The revised Top-10 finishers were as follows:

  1. Hamlin
  2. Erik Jones
  3. Ty Dillon
  4. Byron
  5. Elliott
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. Tyler Reddick
  8. John Hunter Nemechek
  9. Brennan Poole
  10. Ryan Preece

The next race for the NASCAR Cup Series is the Bank of America ROVAL 400 on Sunday, October 11, 2020 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.  It is the final race in the Round of 12 in the NASCAR Playoffs.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Ryan Blaney wins NASCAR All-Star race at Texas



Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

FORT WORTH, TX (Pittsburgh Racing Now) – Ryan Blaney held off Denny Hamlin to win Sunday’s NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway.  The victory was Blaney’s first in the event and Team Penske’s fourth.

Blaney won the event’s third stage guaranteeing him a front row starting spot for the final stage.  Blaney got a huge push from teammate Austin Cindric and powered to the victory.

“This Mustang was a rocketship,” said Blaney. “I am really glad we ended up winning that after that last caution. I am so proud of everybody. Tonight will be fun.”

“Really happy for Ryan (Blaney) and the No. 12 team,” said Cindric. “They had the fastest car all night and if I wasn’t going to win it, I was committed to helping him. I lined up behind him on that last restart and gave him the best push possible.”

Three Rivers Karting

Hamlin was upset after the race that NASCAR extended the final caution to accommodate Blaney, who dropped his window net when he thought the race was over when in fact the caution light came on before he crossed the start/finish line.

“It’s tough because he deserved to win the race, but if you mess up and you break a rule – not intentionally, but there’s rules and we have rules in place for safety,” said Hamlin. “My crew chief is taking four weeks off (a penalty from a pit-road infraction earlier in the season) because of safety.”

“I already took my window net down and everything,” explained Blaney. “My left arm is worn out from trying to get that damn thing back up. I got it rigged up enough to where it halfway stayed. I appreciate NASCAR for not making us come down pit road to fix it and letting me get it clipped back again to where we could stay out there.”

Next up for the NASCAR Cup Series is the Coca-Cola 600 next Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Continue Reading


Racing Notebook: Logano on Darlington pole; Allgaier wins Xfinity race and more



Photo by James Gilbert/Getty Images

DARLINGTON, SC (Pittsburgh Racing Now) – It’s NASCAR ‘throwback’ weekend in Darlington, South Carolina where all three series are on the track this weekend.

Logano Take Cup Series Pole:

  • Team Penske’s Joey Logano is on the pole position for Sunday’s 3rd Annual Goodyear 400.  Logano’s fast lap of 28.805-seconds (170.720 mph) was .082-seconds quicker than Hendrick Motorsports Kyle Larson’s 28.887.  Hendrick’s Chase Elliott, Stewart Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick and B.J. McCloud did not make qualifying attempts after separate issues in practice. The green flag drops at 3:30 p.m. on FS1. Darlington Cup Lineup
Three Rivers Karting

Allgaier Wins Xfinity Race:

  • Justin Allgaier beat JR Motorsports Noah Gragson by .259-seconds to win Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Mahindra ROXOR 200 at Darlington Raceway. In a 2-lap shootout following a caution flag, Allgaier quickly dispatched A.J. Allmendinger – who was on 16-lap older tires and drove away with Gragson in tow.  JRM drivers now have won three straight races in the series. Darlington Xfinity Results

Nemechek Wins Truck Series Race:

  • John Hunter Nemechek beat Carson Hocevar by .552-seconds in overtime to win Friday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Dead On Tools 200 at Darlington Raceway.  Wexford native Kris Wright finished 32nd after starting 21st in the No. 44 VFW Chevrolet thanks to an accident. Darlington Truck Series Results
Continue Reading


McGriff, Shelmerdine and Kenseth elected to NASCAR Hall of Fame



Photo by Eakin Howard/Getty Images

DAYTONA BEACH, FL (Pittsburgh Racing Now) – Herschel McGriff, Kirk Shelmerdine and Matt Kenseth have been elected to the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2023.  Mike Helton was also named the recipient of the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

McGriff’s first race was the 1950 Southern 500, in the NASCAR Cup Series’ sophomore season, at the age of 22. His final NASCAR race was at Tucson Speedway in the NASCAR Pro Series West – in 2018 at the age of 90. McGriff started 85 races in parts of 28 NASCAR Cup Series seasons, capturing four wins – all in 1954, when he finished sixth in championship points.

Three Rivers Karting

Shelmerdine won four total Cup Series championships with Earnhardt (1986, ’87, ’90, ’91). Over his 16-year crew chief career with Earnhardt, Rudd, James Hylton and Richard Childress, he won 46 races and posted top-10 finishes in more than half his starts.

Kenseth, the 2003 Cup Series Champion, scored 39 Cup wins, which tie for 21st on the all-time list and include two Daytona 500s, the Southern 500, Coca-Cola 600 and the All-Star Race.

The Class of 2023 Induction Ceremony is set for Friday, Jan. 20, 2023 at the NASCAR Hall of Fame and Charlotte Convention Center in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Continue Reading